Somewhere

So while browsing through my Twitter feed during the 2nd day of the new year, I came across this tweet by Jean Snow. A film by Sofia Coppola, I was definitely intrigued as I enjoyed Lost In Translation immensely and consider it as one of my most favorites movies ever, so I went looking and managed to “get hold” of a copy.

I really enjoyed watching this film. It’s definitely not for viewers who are looking for action-packed sequences or huge explosions. In fact, you might be wondering throughout the film where the story is leading to.

One of things that I liked about Lost In Translation, the pace was slow and felt like a journey. The same can be said here, instead of a movie, it feels more like a period in the lives of the characters and we, as viewers, have tagged along to have a glimpse into their lives.

The film stars Stephen Dorff and Elle Fanning, who is the younger sister of Dakota Fanning. It’s about a Hollywood hotshot who’s living the fast but empty life. He receives a visit from his daughter who suddenly has to stay with him while his ex-wife has stuff to deal with. This meeting forces not only a lifestyle change but changes his way of looking at life.

Definitely one of the best films I’ve seen in a while. I would highly recommend this to all.

*Note: As a point of reference, this is the view of a casual movie viewer. I am neither educated nor an expert in films/movies and any reviews read here should be taken with a grain of salt. 🙂

This entry was posted in music & arts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

